Five Mountain Hawks Advance To Day Two Of NCAA Championships

ST. LOUIS – Five Lehigh wrestlers advanced to the second day of competition at the NCAA Championships. The Mountain Hawks dropped all three of their championship round matches in Thursday evening’s session 2 at Enterprise Center but two Lehigh wrestlers won consolation round matches to join the other three in advancing to Friday’s second day.
All five survivors will need to win three matches Friday to earn a spot on the podium.
On the back side, junior Jaret Lane delivered the best win of session two, providing bonus points with a third period pin of Binghamton’s Micah Roes at 125. Lane built a 6-0 lead after two periods than extended his lead to 9-0 in the third, before rolling up Roes for the fall at 6:14. He will next face Liam Cronin of Nebraska in a matchup of the No. 14 and No. 13 seeds.
The other wrestler to stay live in the consolations was freshman Jake Logan, who battled through 11 minutes against Thomas Flitz of Appalachian State. The match finished 3-3 after two rounds of tiebreakers and riding time advantage allowed Logan to win and advance to day two. He will next face Ben Pasiuk of Army West Point.
Two of the three Lehigh wrestlers in the round of 16 ran into top seeded opposition. At 133, freshman Malyke Hines met No. 1 seed Daton Fix of Oklahoma State. Hines trailed 2-1 in the second when Fix used an inside trip to bring Hines to his back, getting the fall at 3:40. Next up for Hines is Sean Carter of Appalachian State.
Senior Jake Jakobsen ran into Myles Amine of Michigan in a 16-vs.-1 matchup at 197. An early takedown was the difference for Amine who held on to win 4-2. Jakobsen next will face No. 2 seed Eric Schultz of Nebraska in the second round of consolations.
At 285 senior Jordan Wood dropped to the consolations after dropping a 12-2 major decision to Greg Kerkvliet of Penn State. Kerkvliet broke open a 3-1 match with a takedown and four near fall points in the second period. Wood’s consolation journey begins with No. 26 seed Sam Schuyler of Buffalo.

Gallery: (3-18-2021) Wrestling NCAA Day 1, 3/18/21

Five Mountain Hawks were eliminated in Friday’s night session. Freshman Luca Frinzi dropped a pigtail consolation to Army’s Markus Hartman 3-0 at 157. Classmate Connor McGonagle gave up four near fall points in the second period which became the difference in a 7-3 loss to Michigan’s Drew Mattin at 141.
Junior Jimmy Hoffman led 4-2 after one and was tied 5-5 early in the third when he fell victim to a six-point move by Duke’s Josh Finesilver. Hoffman, a two-time qualifier competing at nationals for the first time, fell 13-7.
Sophomore Brian Meyer fell to Wyoming’s Cole Moody 2-0 after being unable to get out from bottom in the third period.
Senior Dylan Ammerman’s season and career came to an end with a loss by technical fall to Dominic Ducharme of CSU Bakersfield.
As expected, Iowa leads the team race after day one with 33.5 points, followed by Penn State and Missouri. Lehigh sits in a tie for 17th place with Central Michigan with nine points.
The NCAA Championships continue Friday with sessions 3, 4 and 5 from Enterprise Center. Sessions 3 and 4, featuring the championship quarterfinals and two rounds of consolations will begin at 10 a.m. CT and 2 p.m. CT, respectively and will be televised on ESPNU. The semifinals and fourth and fifth round consolations will begin at 7 p.m. CT and will be televised on ESPN. Streaming coverage of every mat will continue on ESPN3 and the ESPN App.
125 – No. 14 Jaret Lane
Rd. of 32: L by dec. No. 19 Eric Barnett (Wisconsin) 6-3
First round consolation: Fall No. 30 Micah Roes (Binghamton) 6:14
Second round consolation: No. 13 Liam Cronin (Nebraska)
133 – No. 17 Malyke Hines
Rd. of 32: Major dec. No. 16 Devan Turner (Oregon State) 8-0
Rd. of 16: L by Fall No. 1 Daton Fix (Oklahoma State) 3:40
Second round consolation: No. 31 Sean Carter (Appalachian State)
141 – No. 24 Connor McGonagle – Eliminated
Rd. of 32: L by major dec. No. 9 Dresden Simon (Central Michigan) 18-6
First round consolation: L by dec. No. 25 Drew Mattin (Michigan) 7-3
149 – No. 22 Jimmy Hoffman – Eliminated
Rd. of 32: L by dec. No. 11 Kanen Storr (Michigan) 3-2
First round consolation: L by dec. No. 27 Josh Finesilver (Duke) 13-7
157 – No. 32 Luca Frinzi – Eliminated
Pigtail: L by dec. No. 33 Wyatt Sheets (Oklahoma State) 8-2
Pigtail consolation: L by dec. No. 30 Markus Hartman (Army) 3-0
165 – No. 29 Brian Meyer – Eliminated
Rd. of 32: L by dec. No. 4 Mekhi Lewis (Virginia Tech) 8-3
First round consolation: L by No. 20 Cole Moody (Wyoming) 2-0
174 – No. 31 Jake Logan
Rd. of 32: L by dec. No. 2 Demetrius Romero (UVU) 9-6
First round consolation: dec. No. 15 Thomas Flitz (Appalachian State) 3-3, tb2, rt
Second round consolation: No. 17 Ben Pasiuk (Army)
184 – No. 29 Dylan Ammerman – Eliminated
Rd. of 32: L by major dec. No. 5 Hunter Bolen (Virginia Tech) 15-3
First round consolation: L by tech fall No. 21 Dominic Ducharme (CSU Bakersfield) 16-1, 7:00
197 – No. 16 Jake Jakobsen
Rd. of 32: Fall No. 17 JT Brown (Army) 7:49, sv
Rd. of 16: L by dec. No. 1 Myles Amine (Michigan) 4-2
Second round consolation: No. 2 Eric Schultz (Nebraska)
285 – No. 8 Jordan Wood
Rd. of 32: dec. No. 25 Nathan Traxler (Stanford) 6-1
Rd. of 16: L by major dec. No. 9 Greg Kerkvliet (Penn State) 12-2
Like Lehigh Wrestling on Facebook and follow on Twitter and Instagram for exclusive updates throughout the season.